Page content

The Netherlands

When thinking of the Netherlands you probably think of tulips, windmills and cheese. Of course, we have a lot of all of these stereotypes, but there is much more to the Netherlands than just these things. Here are some facts and figures on the Kingdom of the Netherlands.


Surface: about 41.500 km2

Inhabitants: about 16,5 million

Capital city: Amsterdam

Head of State: King Willem Alexander

Seat of Government: Binnenhof, The Hague

Currency: Euro (€)

Language: Dutch (Nederlands)

Time Zone: UTC + 1 in winter, UTC + 2 in summer

The Kingdom of The Netherlands is located in the North-West of Europe. The country is a parliamentary democratic constitutional monarchy, which means that the King is the ceremonial head of state whilst the prime minister is the executive head of state. The capital is Amsterdam and the seat of government is The Hague. The country is host to five international courts: the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the International Court of Justice, the International Criminal Tribunal for former Yugoslavia, the International Criminal Court, and the Special Tribunal for Lebanon. The Netherlands have 12 provinces. The country is a geographically low-lying country, with about 20% of its area and 21% of its population located below sea level. 50% of its land is lying less than one metre above sea level. The low-lying parts are preserved through an elaborate system of polders and dikes.


Want to know more about the Netherlands? Check out our Dutch ways section for more information on our history and the Dutch ways. Or have a look at our Tourism section to see what exciting attractions you can check out during your stay in the Netherlands.